top of page

White Chocolate Pecan Pie Bars


When White Chocolate Chips became available at the grocery store, I started experimenting. Chocolate Chip Cookies became White Chocolate Chip Cookies, Chocolate Cocoa became White Chocolate Cocoa and well you can guess the rest.

That’s when I set my sights on creating a White Chocolate Bar. The holidays were approaching, cash was tight and I knew there would be a shortage of square packages under my tree unless I made them. How come college tuition is always due just before Christmas? It occurred to me that if I made bars, I could cut them into squares, wrap them individually in tin foil, stack three or more together, then tie them together with a red bow. Whalla!

I remember smiling to myself at my sudden inspiration. When it began to snow, I knew the bars would have to include coconut flakes. That’s when a young man I’d noticed in my calculus class months before said good morning to me as we boarded the bus. When those blue eyes asked me out for coffee, I wondered . . . It was late in the semester so if I said yes to coffee and it was horrible, we’d just have a couple of weeks left before I’d never have to see him again. But it wasn’t horrible. One of my tin foil packages found its way to him. He told me he liked them so well he’d never want another Christmas without finding a White Chocolate Coconut Bar under the tree! That was two years ago!

Ingredients:

  1. 2 c. pecans, chopped

  2. 1 PillsburyTM Pie Crust, 9'', 14.1 oz.

  3. 2 c. white chocolate chips

  4. ¼ c. butter, melted

  5. ¾ c. light brown sugar

  6. ¾ c. light corn syrup

  7. 1 c. sweetened, flaked coconut

  8. 3 eggs

Instructions:

  1. Pour pecans onto a cookie sheet lined with tinfoil. Bake at 350°F, 8-10 minutes or until lightly toasted, stirring halfway through. Then remove from oven and set aside.

  2. Lightly butter a pie pan.

  3. Press pie crust into pie pan, spreading evenly.

  4. Bake crust at 350°F for 10 minutes. Then remove from oven and immediately sprinkle white chocolate chips on top. Wait 10 minutes or until the chocolate has melted.

  5. Smooth the white chocolate using a spoon to create an even layer.

  6. Whisk the remaining ingredients together in a large bowl until combined. Then pour on top of the white chocolate layer evenly, smoothing with a spoon.

  7. Bake at 350°F for 25-30 minutes or until golden brown.

bottom of page